Current Joys Announce New Album East My Love

Current Joys, AKA: Nick Rattigan, have announced their new album East My Love, will drop on October 11th via Secretly Canadian. Ahead of it’s release, Current Joys have shared Lead single “California Rain.” East My Love was Produced & Mixed by Andrew Sarlo (Hovvdy, Nick Hakim, Nilüfer Yanya) and Mixed by Heba Kadry

Current Joys will perform in New York on November 14th at Brooklyn Steel, and in his hometown of Los Angeles on November 22nd at The Bellwether, and on album release day, October 11th, with a special release show outdoors at Pappy and Harriet’s in Pioneertown, CA.

Nick Rattigan on East My Love:

“If you look at my last couple of records / my records in general, I’m maybe creating genre movies. This would be my American Folk Piece…I was trying to expose truths traumas and tribulations in a whimsical way – there’s a duality to the songs – they’re pretty, joyful but the lyricism is where the depth of emotion hits,” he explains.

The LP’s 12 songs contained within dive deep into the rich folklore of the American West to tell time-worn tales of love and trauma, heartbreak and spiritual renewal. Cast with a warm glow and finding Nick Rattigan tapping into some of his lushest, most high-fidelity production to date, it’s the kind of album that listeners could see themselves within, and, hopefully, keep close when they’re most in need of reassurance or escapism.

Rattigan wrote East My Love alone in the woods in Tennessee, with no cell reception and nobody in earshot for miles. Composed three years before Love + Pop, the experimental pop double record he released in 2023 and 2024 that featured Lil Yachty, Lala Lala, & Slow Hollows, the songs on East My Love felt too raw to confront until he felt well and truly out from underneath the cloud that had been cast over him. Rattigan describes the songs as “landmines” that, for years, threatened to upend his carefully balanced mental state. “They were just triggers that would put me back in this emotional space, and I think eventually I got to a place where they were more comforting,” he recalls. “That’s what I hope people find out of the record – a solace from any anxieties or depressions.”

Current Joys
East My Love
Secretly Canadian

01 Echoes of the Past
02 California Rain
03 Days of Heaven
04 Never Seen a Rose
05 Lullaby for the Lost
06 Oh, Sister
07 They Shoot Horses
08 Slowly like the Wind
09 Tormenta
10 Sister Christian
11 East My Love
12 Feelin’ Groovy

Current Joys 2024 Tour Dates

October 11th – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy and Harriet’s
November 14th – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
November 22nd – Los Angeles, CA @ The Bellwether

Pre-order East My Love HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *