Call for entries: Living Places 2024 – Announcements

Call for entries: Living Places 2024

Nomination deadline: September 16, 8pm, GMT+2

The Living Places—Simon Architecture Prize is an initiative of Simon and, since the prize’s inception, has been curated by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe. It aims to distinguish those architectural projects (including interiors, public, domestic, and landscape spaces) whose excellence provide comfort to their inhabitants and improves people’s quality of life on a daily basis: while working, learning, sharing, enjoying… architecture to be lived!

Focusing on the inhabitant’s perspective, video is the main document to present the architectural works in this prize. This format is considered the tool for bringing architecture closer to the general public and the most suitable medium for conveying the atmosphere of the place. The kickoff video to present this fifth edition, entitled “El Luchador” (The Wrestler), has been created by RA! Arquitectos, recognised as “Best Audiovisual Narrative” in 2022. Set in the historic building Taller de Arquitectura of Agustín Hernández in Mexico City, the short film highlights the power of dream spaces to make the wishes of their inhabitants come true. Take inspiration and watch previous winners here.

–PhD Architect, writer, and curator Andrés Jaque 
–Filmmaker and screenwriter Amanda Sans 
–Architect and professor Verena Von Beckerath 
–Architect and urban planner Gabriela de Matos 
–Industrial designer Salvi Plaja, Global Chief Design Officer at Simon and president of FAD

2 categories, 10 finalists, 2 winners
The award is organized into two categories: Collective Places refers to spaces in which community and public life unfolds; Personal Places refers to places associated with our ideal of privacy and comfort. The jury will select 5 finalists per category and among them, a winner for each one. The prize includes a monetary award of €10,000 and a trophy designed by Andreu Carulla. Additionally, a special jury recognition will be given to the audiovisual piece with the best narrative.

–Inscription and application are entirely free of charge.
–Open to completed works in use between January 1, 2022, and December 31, 2023 within European territories, Mexico, and Brazil.
Pre-registration (nominations) are open until September 16, 8pm GMT+2. Anyone can nominate: architects, urban planners, landscape architects and the general public.
Registrations (submissions only by the authors) are open until September 30, 2024, 8pm GMT+2.
–Finalists will be announced in November 2024, with winners revealed in December 2024. The granting ceremony will take place in February 2025.

For detailed rules and further information, visit here.

Start your nominations here! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *